Thread: help with turtling
  • Share This Thread!
    • Share on Facebook
      Downloads
      Uploads

help with turtling

hey,
      please don't bite my head off here, i am new to rts ^^
      Sorry if its already been asked but i'm having problems with players who turtle, particularly protoss players.
      for e.g. you scout there base and see that they are building alot of photon cannons usually followed by a few stargates. you know they are going for mass voidrays but how do you stop it?
      any early attack i make on there base is swiftly ended by cannons, and any attempt i make at denying them there expansion is ended as soon as the first few voidrays are completed.
      i usually play toss myself in 2v2's.
      thanks in advance
      - Will

Downloads
      Uploads
      Heya,

Rather than try and beat down his wall, try creating units that counter his voids like phoenixes or vikings. Building a photon wall like that does have some disadvantages. His firepower isn't mobile at all. So at the cost of a large ground army to overcome the cannons, you should pin him down with a few ground units and spend the rest of your cash getting ready to take down that air force. Also consider that after you've boxed him in, you will be able to expand and he wont. Just make sure you can handle the voids first. With a hard counter, this shouldn't be too hard though.

-Romeo

Downloads
      Uploads
      Another possibility would be to warp prism some guys in to his base. With that many cannons at the front he likely does not have any defense near his minerals or tech buildings.
      Add me: Moderas character code: 933

"I wish I was your derivative, so that I could lie tangent to your curves." Physics jokes ftw

Downloads
      Uploads